Each year the EFSJ seeks to find and reward the best science journalist in Europe, with the prestigious European Science Journalist of the Year Award and 1000 Euros for the winner, plus 500 Euros for two runners up. Entries are in, and the judging has begun! 

We’re deciding between 10 entries from around Europe. They are:

  • Dániel Bolcsó, Hungary
  • Nenad Jarić Dauenhauer, Croatia – nominated by the Croatian Journalists’ Association (Hrvatsko novinarsko društvo, HND)
  • Hélène Gélot, France – nominated by the Association des Journalistes Scientifiques de la Presse d’Information (AJSPI)
  • Niki Korteweg, The Netherlands – nominated by the Dutch Association for Science Journalism and Communication (VWN)
  • Anita Makri, UK
  • Antoaneta Markova, Bulgaria
  • Ian Sample, UK – nominated by the Association of British Science Writers (ABSW)
  • Mateo Serra, Italy – nominated by the Science Writers in Italy Association (SWIM)
  • Samuel Schlaefli, Switzerland – nominated by the Swiss Association of Science Journalism (SASJ)
  • Lea Udovč, Slovenia – nominated by the Balkan Network of Science Journalists

Who do we ask to volunteer their time to read some of the best science journalism in Europe? Who do we trust with this decision, and who will help us celebrate science writing?

  • Maria Bolevich, Science, health and environmental journalist for Nature, SciDev, and others
  • Teresa Carr, Contributing Editor at Undark, and independent health and science journalist
  • Cristina Da Rold, Freelance journalist
  • Seán Duke, President of the Irish Science and Technology Journalists Association
  • Andrada Fiscutean, Freelance science and technology journalist
  • Polina Loseva, Senior Editor at N + 1
  • Milica Mocilovic, President of the World Federation of Science Journalists

What do our judges think of the work so far? 

Andrada Fiscutean from Romania has looked at all 10 entries and commented: “It’s been an immense pleasure to read the submissions. Many of the pieces tackled crucial yet underreported topics with remarkable sensitivity, clarity of thought, and maturity.”

Croatia based Maria Bolevich says she is “happy and proud of the work of my colleagues; how they deal with scientific topics is an example for current and future generations of science journalists”.

The award is supported by Elsevier, the global information and analytics provider. Michiel Kolman, SVP Research Networks at Elsevier said: “At a time when building confidence in science is more important than ever, we are proud to sponsor these awards, and so pleased to see the high standard of nominees in this shortlist – a reassuring testimony to the quality of science journalism in Europe. We look forward to seeing who wins!

For further information about this Award, contact awards@efsj.eu