The ABSW has set up a programme of diversity scholarships to help train more science writers at its 2021 Summer School of Science Journalism, including anyone from a Low or Middle Income Country, as defined by the OECD’s development cooperation database.

This, for example, includes Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, and Turkey.

The scholarship is also open to Black and/or other minority group people from any member country of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), which, for example, includes Greece and Slovenia.

There are 50 scholarships and the application deadline is 23:59 Wednesday 16 June. Please use this form to submit your application.

The summer school is one-day event for people starting or returning to a science writing or journalism career, with the programme including keynote sessions, interactive workshops, panel discussions and networking opportunities, as well as the ABSW Awards 2021 Ceremony that evening.

More info here.