The European Science Journalist of the Year 2021 award recognises and promotes excellence and innovation in science, technology, engineering and mathematics journalism across Europe. The award is presented by The EFSJ with administrative support from ABSW.


Work published or broadcast between 01 January 2020 and 31 December 2020, submitted with an English translation if the original piece is published in another language. Entries will be accepted on behalf of European science journalism associations as well as individuals working in a European country or whose work has been published in European media. Please note that if you’re submitting as an individual, a fee of 15 Euro applies, which includes joining the EFSJ: please contact to make a payment before submitting.

Anyone in a European country not represented by an association can apply as an individual.*

Please read the Award Policy and Guidelines before submitting

Deadline for submissions: 19 April 2021

Submit your European Science Journalist of the Year entry here

* This means when you:

a) live in a European country with a local association and when you are a member, you’d have to win the local contest
b) live in a European country with a local association, but you are not a member: you’d have to become their member and win the local contest
c) live in a European country without a local association: you can become an associate member with EFSJ and pay a small administrative fee to send in your work and join the contest