The EFSJ has announced the three winners of a Climate Grant organized in partnership with BNP Paribas Foundation and the CFJ Paris. The announcement was made during the closing ceremony of the European Conference of Science Journalism.

The #EFSJclimategrant is an investigative grant to support journalistic projects about climate change science that have not yet been published. The jury is composed of experienced journalists and scientists. Overall, 30 projects were submitted from 66 journalists from 30 different countries. Among them, 9 partnerships Europe / Africa were present.

Thanks to our partners BNP Paribas Foundation and the CFJ Paris, the jury was able to award grants to the following three projects which stood out because of their relevance and/or their originality.

  • Klaartje Jaspers is a Dutch investigative journalist. Along with her Zambian colleague Bellah Zulu, their application Biased biomass is awarded 4000 euros.
  • Natalia Paramonova, Evgenia Zhulanova, and Daria Checalskaia are a team from Russia and Finland. Their project “The cows are eternal, permafrost is permanent” is awarded 4850 euros.
  • Jocelyn Timperley, India Bourke, Lou Del Bello and Mat Hope are the cofounders of the newsletter From A Climate Correspondent (FACC). Their project is awarded 3150 euros. FACC is also awarded the NextJournalism Prize.

The first Climate Investigation Grants were awarded during the 5th European Conference of Science Journalism in Toulouse in 2018. The previous winners were Olga Dobrovidova (Russia), Michele Catanzaro and Vera Novais (Spain and Portugal) and Slobodan Bubnjevic, Marija Djuric and Nikola Zdravkovic (Serbia).