Entries are now being accepted for the 2019 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards, for stories published, broadcast or posted online during the contest year: 16 July 2018 to 15 July 2019. If the submitted work is in a language other than English, an English translation must be provided.

The deadline is 1 August 2019.

The awards recognize “outstanding reporting for a general audience on the sciences, engineering and mathematics. Stories on the environment, energy, science policy and health qualify if they deal in a substantive way with the underlying science”.

Two awards are available in each category: a Gold award ($5,000) and a Silver award ($3,500).

The categories are:

  • large newspaper
  • small newspaper
  • magazine
  • video spot news/feature
  • video in-depth
  • audio (radio or podcast)
  • online
  • children’s science news.

For detailed rules and FAQs, and for applying go to sjawards.aaas.org.

The awards will be presented at the AAAS Annual Meeting in February 2020 in Seattle, Washington. Travel and lodging expenses for one person are included in each award.

For questions, contact sja@aaas.org.