The deadline for the 2018 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards contest is approaching fast: the online submissions, open to journalists worldwide. will close on 1 August. .

The awards, established in 1945, recognize outstanding reporting for a general audience and honor individuals for coverage of the sciences, engineering, and mathematics. Stories on the environment, energy, science policy, and health qualify if they deal in a substantive way with underlying science and appeared in print, online or on air between 16 July 2017 and 15 July 2018.

There is no entry fee. The winners, selected by independent committees of journalists, will be chosen for the following eight categories:

• Large Newspaper (daily circulation of 150,000 or more)
• Small Newspaper (daily circulation of less than 150,000)
• Magazine
• Video: Spot News/Feature Reporting (20 minutes or less)
• Video: In-Depth Reporting (more than 20 minutes)
• Audio (Radio or Podcast)
• Online
• Children’s Science News (reporting on science for children, including young teens up to age 14)

There will be two winners in each category: Gold Award ($5000) and Silver Award ($3500). The awards will be presented at the 2019 Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in February in Washington, D.C. Travel and lodging expenses for one person are included with each award.

All details can be found on the Science Journalism Awards website.